Search






Supervisory authorities

CNRS

Our partners


Home > Research > Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology > Françoise OCHSENBEIN & Raphaël GUEROIS : Molecular Assemblies and Genome Integrity

Françoise OCHSENBEIN & Raphaël GUEROIS : Group Presentation

We combine experimental and computational strategies to unravel the molecular bases underlying the dynamic assembly of specific protein interaction networks. Focused on the complexes involved in maintaining genome integrity, we characterize the structure of the complexes, develop new methods for the prediction of their conformations and design inhibitory compounds capable of disrupting these interactions.

Unraveling, predicting and inhibiting protein-protein interactions involved in the maintenance of genome integrity

Protein complexes lie at the heart of most biological processes. Our projects aim at unravelling how these physical interactions ensure proper cross-talks between cell machineries and signaling pathways enabling cells to resist to specific stresses. Currently, we focus on protein machineries involved in modulating the establishment of epigenetic information and acting in recombination processes. We combine experimental NMR and Xray crystallography methods to characterize the structure of protein complexes. We are also actively developing novel computational approaches of molecular docking to predict the structure of these complexes. Besides characterizing and predicting the structures of assemblies, we are also involved in the design of compounds that prevent the formation of complexes. In particular, we search for compounds inhibiting interactions triggered upon genotoxic stress to sensitize proliferating cells and improve the efficiency of anti-cancer treatments.

Structural characterization of complexes by interactive structural biology combining NMR, XRAY Crystallography and modeling


Maintenance of genome integrity
relies on intricate cross-talks between DNA associated machineries, chromatin factors and signaling pathways regulated through versatile protein-protein interactions. Understanding the molecular logic underlying these interactions requires that competitive and synergistic associations be uncovered at different scales, from the atomic to the cellular one. We have been particularly interested in a class of proteins, called assembly chaperones which are involved in the formation of large macromolecular assemblies. As an example, we showed how Asf1, a central chaperone of histones H3 and H4, act in a synergistic manner with the Mcm2 helicase to coordinate the assembly and disassembly of nucleosomes at the replication fork. Other binding surfaces on Asf1 were also characterized revealing how other partners such as Rad53 (involved in signaling DNA damages), HirA (transcription) or CAF1 (replication) interact in a competitive manner with Asf1. These interactions take place in different epigenetic context and we are currently investigating how this context is influencing the network of interactions around Asf1.

Predicting the structures of protein-protein complexes using evolutionary information

In the recent years, we have significantly contributed to improve methods for the prediction of complex structures by integrating coevolutionary information in the framework of the available docking tools. Through the development of the InterEvol databasegathering a large number complexes of known structure, we first performed an in-depth analysis of the co-evolution process at their interfaces under a structural perspective. In particular we focused on more than a 1000 pairs of so-called interolog complexes (formed between homologous subunits) which allowed us to figure out important features at interfaces allowing for co-evolution. From this analysis we built the docking scoring function called InterEvScore by combining a two and three-body statistical potential with the coevolutionary information. These developments helped to achieve very good results for several targets proposed during the CAPRI experiment (Critical Assessment of Prediction of Interactions), in particular during the CASP11 conference in 2014. We are further trying to understand how we can improve the convergence and precision of our docking methods through a better exploitation of the wealth of the information contained in multiple sequence alignments.

Design of protein-protein interaction inhibitiors

The inhibition of protein-protein interactions remains a significant methodological challenge which requires innovations in modeling, biomimetic chemistry, structural biology and cellular characterizations. Our team invested in this research field so as to inhibit the histone chaperone Asf1 and prevent its binding to its cognate partners the histones H3 and H4. Asf1 was recently recognized as a novel and promising anti-cancer target. We have developed a first generation of small peptides able to inhibit the interaction Asf1-histones. These peptides can penetrate cells efficiently, impede the cell cycle progression and trigger cell death in tumor cells cultures. Based on these encouraging results we are now tackling the conception of peptido-mimetic compounds, more powerful and selective, able to inhibit Asf1 activity in animals so as to demonstrate their therapeutic potential.

Keywords

Protein-protein interactions, structural biology, bioinformatics, chaperone, chromatin, interactome, molecular docking, cancer, peptides.

Contacts


OCHSENBEIN Françoise [Researcher - CEA]
a hr%f=%spip.php?article' class='teamlink'> Equipe Ochsenbein F./Guerois R. - Assemblage moléculaire et intégrité du génome [Leader]
01 69 08 96 79 Saclay - Bât 144


GUEROIS Raphaël [Researcher - CEA]
Equipe Ochsenbein F./Guerois R. - Assemblage moléculaire et intégrité du génome [Leader]
01 69 08 67 17 Saclay - Bât 144

published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Biochimie, Biophysique et Biologie Structurale > Françoise OCHSENBEIN & Raphaël GUEROIS : Assemblage moléculaire et intégrité du génome

Françoise OCHSENBEIN & Raphaël GUEROIS : Présentation de l’équipe

Notre équipe s’appuie sur un couplage fort entre approches bioinformatiques et expérimentales pour élucider les bases moléculaires qui régissent l’assemblage dynamique des protéines. Focalisés sur les complexes participant au maintien de l’intégrité des génomes, nous caractérisons leurs mécanismes d’assemblage, développons de nouvelles méthodes bioinformatiques pour prédire leurs conformations et concevons des composés inhibiteurs de leurs interactions.

Elucider, prédire et inhiber les interactions Protéine-Protéine impliquées dans le maintien de l’intégrité du génome

Les complexes protéiques sont au cœur de la plupart des processus biologiques. Notre projet vise à découvrir comment ces interactions physiques assurent les régulations croisées entre multiples machineries et voies de signalisation dans les réponses des cellules aux stress génotoxiques. Notre équipe s’intéresse particulièrement aux machineries protéiques modulant l’établissement de l’information épigénétique et à celles impliquées dans les processus de recombinaison. Nous combinons l’utilisation de techniques expérimentales comme la RMN et cristallographie des rayons X avec le développement d’approches bioinformatiques originales pour le docking moléculaire qui augmentent la qualité des modèles structuraux de complexes. L’inhibition de ces interactions par des composés exogènes émerge comme un champ de recherche particulièrement excitant pour le développement de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques. Dans cette optique, nous entreprenons le design de composés qui inhibent la formation des assemblages protéiques activés suite à des stress génotoxiques.

Caractérisation Structurale des complexes en combinant RMN, Cristallographie et Modélisation

Le maintien de l’intégrité du génome repose sur un ensemble de voies de signalisation et de machineries qui communiquent entre elles par de multiples interactions physiques. Comprendre la logique moléculaire associée à ces interactions nécessite de caractériser les synergies et compétitions activées en réponse à des stress cellulaires tels que l’exposition à des agents génotoxiques. Dans ce cadre, nous nous intéressons à une classe de protéines particulièrement importante pour l’assemblage des machineries et des complexes macromoléculaires, les chaperons d’assemblages. Nous avons par exemple montré comment Asf1, un chaperon central des histones H3 et H4 est capable de s’associer de façon synergique avec les histones et l’hélicase réplicative Mcm2 pour coordonner la manipulation des composants du nucléosome au plus près de la fourche de réplication. D’autres surfaces constituent des sites sur lesquels des partenaires comme Rad53 (signalisation des dommages de l’ADN), HirA (transcription) ou CAF1 (réplication) interagissent de façon compétitive. L’ensemble de ces interactions est activé dans différents contextes épigénétiques. Nous cherchons désormais à comprendre comment s’effectue le couplage entre les reconnaissances moléculaires de ces contextes épigénétiques et l’activation de réponses cellulaires spécifiques.

Nouveaux outils de prédiction de structure des complexes par l’intégration des contraintes évolutives

Au cours des dernières années, notre équipe a significativement amélioré les méthodes de prédiction de structures des complexes protéiques en intégrant la dimension évolutive aux outils traditionnels de docking moléculaire. Grâce au développement et à l’exploitation de la base de données InterEvol, nous pouvons explorer les propriétés évolutives des interfaces de complexes protéiques à l’échelle structurale. L’analyse de plus de 1000 couples de complexes dits interologues (impliquant des sous-unités homologues entre elles) a révélé les propriétés des interfaces les plus conservés au cours de l’évolution et les conséquences structurales des processus de co-évolution. Le développement du score de docking InterEvScore, combinant un potentiel statistique à deux et trois corps avec l’information de co-évolution, permet de renforcer la fiabilité de nos prédictions. Ces développements nous ont permis d’obtenir de très bons résultats pour plusieurs cibles proposées dans l’expérience CAPRI (Critical Assessment of Prediction of Interactions) en particulier lors de la conférence CASP11 en 2014. Nos études actuelles visent à comprendre comment la richesse d’information contenue dans les alignements multiples de séquences peut être exploitée par de nouvelles approches afin d’augmenter la qualité des modèles structuraux de complexes protéiques.

Design de nouveaux composés inhibiteurs des interactions Protéine-Protéine

L’inhibition des interactions protéine-protéine constitue un défi méthodologique qui repose sur des innovations importantes en modélisation, chimie biomimétique, biologie structurale et caractérisation cellulaire. Nous avons investi ce champ de recherche dans l’optique d’inhiber l’action des chaperons d’histones comme Asf1 qui constitue une cible anti-cancéreuse nouvelle et prometteuse. Nous avons déjà développé un peptide de première génération capable d’inhiber l’interaction entre Asf1 et les histones. Ce peptide pénètre efficacement dans les cellules où il empêche la prolifération en bloquant la progression du cycle cellulaire et induit la mort de lignées tumorales en culture. Basé sur ces résultats préliminaires particulièrement encourageants, nous concevons des composés peptido-mimétiques, plus puissants et plus sélectifs, capable d’inhiber l’activité d’Asf1 et caractérisons leur potentiel thérapeutique.

Mots-clés

Interactions protéine-protéine, biologie structurale, bioinformatique, chaperon, chromatine, interactome, amarrage moléculaire, cancer, peptide

Contacts


OCHSENBEIN Françoise [Chercheur - CEA]
Equipe Ochsenbein F./Guerois R. - Assemblage moléculaire et intégrité du génome [Responsable]
01 69 08 96 79 Saclay - Bât 144


GUEROIS Raphaël [Chercheur - CEA]
Equipe Ochsenbein F./Guerois R. - Assemblage moléculaire et intégrité du génome [Responsable]
01 69 08 67 17 Saclay - Bât 144

publié le , mis à jour le