Search






Supervisory authorities

Our partners


Home > Departments > Cell Biology > Nathalie BONNEFOY : Biogenesis and Functionning of mitochondrial Oxphos Complexes in Yeasts and Mammals

Nathalie BONNEFOY : Group Presentation

Mitochondria are essential organelles found in all eukaryotes and their principal function is the production of ATP. Defects in mitochondrial function are seen in many metabolic and neuro-degenerative diseases and cancers. In the laboratory, we use yeasts to study mitochondrial biogenesis, model human diseases and screen for new drugs.

Mitochondria are very dynamic organelles, essential for the life of eukaryotic cells. Their main function is to produce ATP by OXidative PHOSphorylation via the OXPHOS complexes, which are a series of enzymes, located in the inner mitochondrial membrane. These complexes are of dual genetic origin; a few key subunits are encoded by the mitochondrial DNA while all the other subunits are encoded by the nuclear genome, imported into the mitochondria and assembled with the mitochondrially-encoded subunits and the co-factors. The proteins needed for the maintenance, regulation and expression of the mitochondrial genome, as well as the assembly factors required for the formation of the OXPHOS complexes are encoded in the nucleus. An optimal coupling between the synthesis of the subunits and their subsequent assembly into the OXPHOS complexes is facilitated by the fact that the mitochondrial ribosomes are bound to the inner-membrane.

Mitochondrial Biogenesis

Yeasts are particularly well adapted to study these processes, as they are facultative aerobes, able to survive without fully functioning respiratory chain, and two complementary yeast models are exploited in our group. We use the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae because it has a strong fermentative capacity and is experimentally very tractable and we use the fission yeast Schizosaccharomyces pombe, because its physiology and mitochondrial genome structure are very similar to humans; at present very few laboratories use S. pombe for mitochondrial studies.

The study of mitochondrial function and biogenesis combines fundamental, medical and agrochemical interests. Mitochondrial functions are affected not only in metabolic disorders, but also in cancer and neuro-degenerative diseases including Parkinson and Alzheimer. In addition, drugs targeting the respiratory complex III are used as antimicrobial agents against malaria parasites and phytopathogenic fungi.

Bcs1 Protein

The aim of our group is to dissect the molecular basis of the different steps of mitochondrial biogenesis, including RNA metabolism, translation and OXPHOS complex assembly as well as to study their catalytic mechanisms. Our work and that of others has repeatedly shown that these various processes are intimately linked.

We are especially interested in the nuclear factors involved in these processes, their mechanism of action, and how they can be placed within a network of genetic and biochemical interactions to allow the establishment of a functional respiratory chain and efficient ATP synthesis. To do so, we use a wide range of genetic, molecular, biochemical and biophysical strategies, because the study of the biogenesis and functioning of an organelle requires an integrated view and the use of many complementary experimental approaches.

We work in collaboration with medical laboratories studying mitochondrial dysfunctions in human diseases and we use the yeast models to investigate, at a molecular level, the cause of these defects, to identify new compensatory mechanisms and to search for drugs that could restore the respiratory function.

Keywords

Yeasts, Saccharomyces cerevisiae, Schizosaccharomyces pombe, Mitochondria, Respiratory chain complexes, Mitochondrial gene expression, Yeast genetics, Mitochondrial transformation, Membrane protein biochemistry, Drug screening

Contact


BONNEFOY Nathalie [Senior Researcher - CNRS]
Biogenesis and Functioning of Mitochondrial Oxphos Complexes in Yeasts and Mammals [Leader]
01 69 82 31 75 Gif - Bât 26

published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Biologie Cellulaire > Nathalie BONNEFOY : Biogenèse et fonctionnement des complexes OXPHOS mitochondriaux chez les levures et les mammifères

Nathalie BONNEFOY : Présentation de l’équipe

Les mitochondries sont des organites présents chez les eucaryotes dont la fonction principale est la production d’ATP. Chez l’homme des déficiences mitochondriales sont observées dans des maladies métaboliques, neuro-dégénératives et des cancers. Nous utilisons les levures pour étudier la biogenèse mitochondriale, mimer des maladies mitochondriales et cribler de nouvelles molécules thérapeutiques.

Les mitochondries sont des organites très dynamiques, essentiels à la vie de la cellule eucaryote. Leur principale fonction est la production d’ATP par la Phosphorylation Oxydative via les complexes OXPHOS qui sont des enzymes localisés dans la membrane interne mitochondriale. Ces complexes ont une double origine génétique : quelques sous-unités sont codées par le génome mitochondrial tandis que toutes les autres sont codées par le génome nucléaire, importées dans la mitochondrie et assemblées avec celles d’origine mitochondriale et les co-facteurs. Les protéines nécessaires à la maintenance, la régulation et l’expression du génome mitochondrial, ainsi que les facteurs d’assemblage requis pour la formation des complexes OXPHOS sont codés par le génome nucléaire. Un couplage optimal entre la synthèse des sous-unités et leur assemblage en complexes OXPHOS est facilité par le fait que les ribosomes mitochondriaux sont liés à la membrane mitochondriale.

Biogénèse Miotochondriale

Les levures sont des organismes de choix pour étudier ces processus car elles peuvent fermenter et peuvent ainsi survivre en l’absence de respiration et deux modèles complémentaires sont utilisés dans notre équipe. Premièrement, la levure Saccharomyces cerevisiae qui a une forte capacité fermentaire et pour laquelle il existe de nombreux outils expérimentaux. Deuxièmement, la levure Schizosaccharomyces pombe dont la physiologie et la structure du génome mitochondrial sont plus semblables à celles des cellules humaines. A ce jour, très peu de laboratoires utilisent S. pombe pour des études sur la mitochondrie.

Du point de vue sociétal, l’étude de la biogenèse et de la fonction mitochondriale présente un intérêt fondamental mais aussi médical et agronomique. Les fonctions mitochondriales sont affectées non seulement dans des maladies métaboliques mais aussi dans des cancers et des maladies neuro-dégénératives comme la maladie de Parkinson ou d’Alzheimer. De plus, des molécules thérapeutiques ciblant le complexe III de la chaîne respiratoire sont utilisées comme agents anti-microbiens contre le parasite du paludisme et des champignons pathogènes.

Protéine Bcs1

Notre but est de disséquer les bases moléculaires des différentes étapes de la biogenèse mitochondriale, en particulier le métabolisme et la traduction des ARNm et l’assemblage des complexes OXPHOS ainsi que leur mécanisme catalytique. Nos travaux et ceux d’autres laboratoires ont clairement montré que ces différentes étapes sont liées intimement.

Nous nous intéressons particulièrement aux facteurs nucléaires contrôlant ces étapes, leur mécanisme d’action et à la détermination de leur place au sein du réseau d’interactions génétiques et biochimiques qui permet la formation d’une chaîne respiratoire fonctionnelle et une synthèse d’ATP efficace. Pour ces recherches, nous utilisons une variété de techniques expérimentales complémentaires génétiques, biochimiques et biophysiques car ces études nécessitent une approche intégrative pour comprendre les relations entre biogenèse et fonctionnement mitochondrial.

Nous interagissons avec des laboratoires médicaux étudiant les dysfonctionnements mitochondriaux dans les maladies humaines et nous utilisons les levures comme modèle afin de comprendre les déficiences moléculaires responsables des pathologies, d’identifier de nouveaux mécanismes compensatoires et de rechercher des molécules thérapeutiques qui pourrait restaurer la fonction respiratoire.

Mots-clefs

Saccharomyces cerevisiae, Schizosaccharomyces pombe, Mitochondries, Complexes respiratoires, Expression du génome mitochondrial, Génétique de levures, Transformation mitochondriale, Biochimie des protéines membranaires, Criblage de drogues

Contact


BONNEFOY Nathalie [Directeur de Recherche - CNRS]
Equipe Bonnefoy N. - Biogenèse et Fonctionnement des Complexes OXPHOS Mitochondriaux chez les levures et les mammifères [Responsable]
01 69 82 31 75 Gif - Bât 26

publié le , mis à jour le