Search






Supervisory authorities

Our partners


Home > Departments > Microbiology > Thierry TOUZÉ : Bacterial Cell Envelopes and Antibiotics

Thierry TOUZÉ : Group Presentation

Project

Our laboratory develops detailed investigations of the metabolism and structure of peptidoglycan, one of the main components of the bacterial cell wall. This complex cell-sized polymer that is essential and specific of the bacterial world is formed of long glycan chains cross-linked by short peptides.




It determines the characteristic cell shape (spherical or rod), is implicated in cell growth and cell division processes, and serves as a platform for the binding of various other cell envelope components (proteins, polysaccharides). Its main role is to maintain the cell integrity by protecting bacteria against the internal osmotic pressure. Degrading the peptidoglycan structure or inhibiting its biosynthesis results in bacterial cell lysis. Detailed investigations of this pathway therefore present a double interest, fundamental and applied, all the enzymes involved in this process constituting potential targets that could be exploited for a search of new antibiotics.




Some steps of this pathway still remain to be elucidated or are only partially characterized. This is particularly true for membrane steps, the nature of the proteins implicated (in most cases integral membrane proteins) and the difficulty to overexpress and purify them having clearly hampered the progress of our knowledge in that field. Therefore, significant efforts of our team were focused on these steps in recent years.

Our main projects concern:

  • (I) a global analysis of the variations of the peptidoglycan structure and of its metabolism encountered in bacterial world;
  • (II) the development of a general structure-activity relationships analysis within the family of Mur ligases which catalyze the formation of the peptide moiety of this polymer;
  • (III) the biochemical and structural characterization of membrane enzymes involved in the synthesis of peptidoglycan lipid intermediates I and II;
  • (IV) the elucidation of the metabolism of the carrier lipid undecaprenyl-phosphate which is required for the synthesis of this and various other cell envelope components;
  • (V) the exploitation of all these enzymes as potential targets for antibiotics;
  • (VI) the identification and characterization of bacteriocins targeting peptidoglycan metabolism;
  • (VII) the elucidation of the mode of action of antibiotics and the analysis of resistance mechanisms developed by bacteria;
  • (VIII) the identification of molecular determinants allowing the recognition of peptidoglycan by host innate immunity mechanisms during bacterial infection.

These projects are developed by using multidisciplinary approaches combining bacteriology, molecular biology, cellular biology, biochemistry, biophysics and chemistry. All this activity is performed thanks to numerous collaborations with academic and industrial partners which were developed within the frame of different national and international contracts (FP6 EUR-INTAFAR 2005-2010; PICS-CNRS; Proteus and Tournesol PHC; ANR Bactoprenyl 2012-2015; ANR MimictRNA 2013-2017; IAP iProS 2012-2017; FRM 2017-2019).

Keywords

Bacterial cell wall, peptidoglycan, metabolism, regulation, enzyme, membrane protein, inhibitor, antibiotic, bacteriocin, innate immunity.

Contact


TOUZE Thierry [Lecturer - UPSaclay]
Bacterial Enveloppes and Antibiotics [Leader]
01 69 82 61 25 Orsay - Bât 430

published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Microbiologie > Dominique MENGIN LECREULX : Enveloppes Bactériennes et Antibiotiques

Dominique MENGIN-LECREULX : Présentation de l’équipe

Projet

Notre laboratoire développe une étude générale approfondie de la structure et du métabolisme du peptidoglycane, un des principaux constituants de la paroi bactérienne. Cette macromolécule essentielle et spécifique du monde bactérien est constituée de longues chaînes glycanes pontées par de courts motifs peptidiques.

Elle détermine la forme caractéristique de la bactérie, est intimement liées aux phénomènes de croissance et division cellulaires, et sert de plateforme d’ancrage pour divers autres constituants de l’enveloppe (protéines, polysaccharides). Son rôle principal est d’assurer le maintien de l’intégrité cellulaire en protégeant la bactérie de la pression osmotique interne. Toute altération (action d’inhibiteurs spécifiques, mutations) dans le processus de biosynthèse de cette macromolécule au cours d’une croissance bactérienne active conduit rapidement à la déstructuration de l’enveloppe et à la lyse cellulaire. Ainsi, les multiples enzymes qui y sont impliquées constituent autant de cibles potentielles pour la recherche de nouveaux antibiotiques, une recherche devenue prioritaire face au grave problème de santé publique que constitue l’émergence des souches pathogènes multi-résistantes.

Plusieurs étapes de cette voie métabolique restent encore à identifier ou n’ont été que partiellement caractérisées. C’est en particulier le cas pour les étapes membranaires, la nature des protéines impliquées (le plus souvent des protéines intégrales de membranes) et les difficultés liées à leur production et purification ayant clairement limité l’avancement des connaissances dans ce domaine. Les efforts de l’équipe ont donc été tout particulièrement focalisés sur ces étapes au cours des dernières années.

Nos principaux projets concernent :

  • (I) l’analyse globale de la variabilité de la structure et du métabolisme du peptidoglycane au sein du monde bactérien ;
  • (II) le développement d’une étude générale des relations structure-activité de la famille des Mur ligases catalysant la synthèse de la partie peptidique de ce polymère ;
  • (III) la caractérisation biochimique et structurale des enzymes membranaires impliquées dans la synthèse des intermédiaires lipidiques I et II du peptidoglycane ;
  • (IV) l’élucidation du métabolisme de l’undécaprényl phosphate, un transporteur lipidique essentiel à la synthèse du peptidoglycane et de divers autres constituants de l’enveloppe ;
  • (V) l’exploitation de tous ces enzymes comme cibles potentielles pour la recherche de nouveaux antibiotiques ;
  • (VI) l’identification et la caractérisation de bactériocines ciblant la biosynthèse du peptidoglycane ;
  • (VII) l’élucidation du mode d’action d’antibiotiques et des mécanismes de résistance développés par les bactéries ;
  • (VIII) l’identification des déterminants moléculaires assurant la reconnaissance du peptidoglycane par les mécanismes de l’immunité innée.

Ces différents projets sont développés via une démarche résolument pluridisciplinaire alliant des approches de microbiologie, biologie moléculaire, biochimie, biophysique, et chimie. Toutes ces recherches ont pu être menées à bien grâce à la mise en place de multiples collaborations, impliquant des laboratoires de recherche universitaires ou industriels et développées dans le cadre de divers contrats nationaux ou internationaux (FP6 EUR-INTAFAR 2005-2010 ; PICS-CNRS ; Proteus & Tournesol PHC ; ANR Bactoprenyl 2012-2015 ; ANR MimictRNA 2013-2017 ; IAP iProS 2012-2017 ; FRM 2017-2019).

Mots-clés

Enveloppes bactériennes, peptidoglycane, métabolisme, régulation, enzyme, protéine membranaire, inhibiteur, antibiotique, bactériocine, immunité innée.

Contact


MENGIN-LECREULX Dominique [Directeur de Recherche - CNRS]
Equipe Mengin Lecreulx D. - Enveloppes Bactériennes et Antibiotiques [Responsable]
01 69 15 48 41 Orsay - Bât 430

publié le , mis à jour le