Search






Supervisory authorities

CNRS

Our partners


Home > Research > Virology > Audrey ESCLATINE: Virulence and Latency of herpes Viruses

Audrey ESCLATINE : Group Presentation

Our objective is to analyse the relationships between viruses of Herpesviridae family, such as Herpes simplex virus HSV-1 and Human cytomegalovirus, at both the replicative cycle and the latent infection and their hosts, by in vitro and in vivo approaches, with an original latency model.

Project

The main objective of our team is to study Human Herpesviruses and to focus on virus-host interactions. We have a particular interest on the cellular defense mechanisms against pathogens, on the regulation of viral latency and on the hijacking by viruses of the cellular machinery of transport. We are studying several different Herpesvirus, such as Herpes Simplex Virus type 1 (HSV-1), human cytomegalovirus (HCMV) and Epstein-Barr virus (EBV).

1. We are notably focusing on autophagy, a biological process which leads to degradation of cytosolic components by the lysosome. Beyond its functions in cell maintenance, it appears now that autophagy is critical in establishing and regulating immune responses against pathogens, with potential antiviral properties. We have established that both HSV-1 and HCMV are able to negatively modulate the formation of autophagosomes, the double membrane vesicles characteristic of autophagy. We have identified several gene products of HSV-1 and HCMV involved in this modulation and their mechanisms of action (Figure 1). We are now deciphering the consequences of autophagy manipulation by these viruses, notably on innate and adaptative immunity and virulence.

Figure 1}

: Quantification of GFP-LC3 dots by Cellomics ArrayScan in HeLa cells. Number of autophagosomes (green spots) is clearly decreased after expression of the HCMV protein, IRS1 (red staining).

Latency is found in all viruses of the Herpesviridae family, allows them to persist indefinitely in their host and is characterized by the presence of viral genome as an episome in the nucleus. Regarding HSV-1, this state is also characterized by the accumulation of Latency Associated Transcripts (LATs). Concerning latency, we characterized a mouse model mimicking the natural history of HSV 1 infection in human (Figure 2), which allows us to study latency as well as reactivation in different neurological sites. We use this model to elucidate the role of non-coding RNAs, the LATs during latency, in combination with in vitro experiments to join in vivo aspects and more fundamentals insights. This in vivo mouse model is also used to test innovative therapeutic approaches against HSV-1 infections.

Figure 2: Oro ocular model of HSV-1 infection. Non coding RNA LATs accumulate especially in the trigeminal ganglion (TG).

Viral dissemination within the host requires efficient, fact and directed transport of viral particles. This is particularly important for neurotropic viruses such as HSV-1, which have to travel through large distances. Using fluorescent viruses, live-cell imaging technology and molecular biology, we aim at understanding the virus-host interactions involved in viral transport (Figure 3).

Figure 3: HSV-1 capsids travelling within a neuron

Keywords :

Virus, HSV-1, HCMV, EBV, Latency, LATs, transport, centrosome, autophagy, host defense

Contact :


ESCLATINE Audrey [Professor - UPSud]
Virulence and Latency of Herpes viruses [Leader]
+331 4683 5292 Fac. Pharma - Chatenay

published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Virologie > Audrey ESCLATINE : Virulence et Latence des Herpesvirus

Audrey ESCLATINE : Présentation de l’équipe

Notre objectif est d’étudier les relations entre les virus de la famille des Herpesviridae, comme le virus Herpès Simplex HSV-1 ou le cytomégalovirus, aussi bien au niveau du cycle viral que de la latence, et leurs hôtes, par des approches in vitro et in vivo, par un modèle de latence original.

Présentation générale de l’équipe

La thématique de l’équipe est tournée vers différents Herpesvirus humains et vise à étudier les interactions entre l’hôte et le virus. Nous nous intéressons plus particulièrement aux mécanismes de défense de la cellule infectée, à la régulation de la latence virale et au détournement de la machinerie cellulaire de transport au profit des virus. Nous travaillons à étudier différents Herpesvirus, comme le virus Herpès Simplex de type 1 (HSV-1), le cytomégalovirus humain (HCMV) et le virus Epstein-Barr (EBV).

1. Nous nous focalisons notamment sur l’autophagie qui est un processus biologique qui va entrainer la dégradation de composants cytosoliques par le lysosome. En dehors de son rôle dans l’homéostasie cellulaire, il est maintenant bien établi que l’autophagie joue un rôle crucial dans l’établissement et la régulation des réponses immunitaires à l’encontre des microorganismes pathogènes. Nous avons établi que CMV et HSV-1 sont tous deux capable de moduler négativement la formation des autophagosomes, les vésicules à double membrane caractéristiques de l’autophagie. Nous avons identifié différentes protéines virales impliquées dans cette modulation et leurs mécanismes d’action (Figure 1). Nous nous intéressons maintenant à comprendre le rôle de cette modulation de l’autophagie, notamment dans l’immunité innée et adaptative et dans la virulence.

Figure 1 : Quantification of GFP-LC3 dots by Cellomics ArrayScan in HeLa cells. Number of autophagosomes (green spots) is clearly decreased after expression of the HCMV protein IRS1 (red staining).

2. La latence est une propriété retrouvée chez tous les virus de la famille des Herpesviridae, qui leur permet de persister à vie chez l’hôte, caractérisée par la présence du génome viral sous forme d’épisome dans le noyau. Concernant la latence d’HSV-1, nous avons caractérisé un modèle chez la souris qui mime l’histoire naturelle de l’infection par HSV-1 chez l’homme et qui nous permet d’étudier aussi bien la latence que la réactivation du virus, dans plusieurs sites neurologiques (Figure 2). Afin d’élucider le rôle des transcrits associés à la latence ou LATs (des ARN non codants) durant la latence, nous utilisons ce modèle, en association avec des approches expérimentales in vitro afin de combiner des aspects in vivo avec des aspects plus fondamentaux. Ce modèle in vivo d’infection chez la souris nous permet également de tester des approches thérapeutiques innovantes contre les infections à HSV-1.

Figure 2 : Oro ocular model of HSV-1 infection. Non coding RNA LATs accumulate especially in the trigeminal ganglion (TG).

3. La dissémination virale au sein de l’hôte requiert un transport efficace, rapide et dirigé des particules virales. Ceci est particulièrement important pour les virus neurotropes comme HSV-1, qui a à voyager sur de grandes distances. A l’aide de virus fluorescents, et en utilisant des technologies de live-cell imaging et de biologie moléculaire, notre but est d’étudier les interactions hôte-virus impliquées dans le transport viral (Figure 3).

Figure 3 : Capsides d’HSV-1 en transit dans un neurone

Mots clés :

Virus, HSV-1, HCMV, EBV, Latency, LATs, transport, centrosome, autophagy, host defense

Contact :


ESCLATINE Audrey [Professeur - UPSud]
Equipe Esclatine A. - Virulence et latence des Herpesvirus [Responsable]
+331 4683 5292 Fac. Pharma - Chatenay

publié le , mis à jour le