Search






Supervisory authorities

Our partners


Home > Departments > Genome Biology > Mireille BETERMIER : Programmed genome rearrangements

Mireille BETERMIER : Group Presentation

In numerous eukaryotes, the developmentally programmed elimination of germline DNA sequences drives the plasticity of the somatic genome. Using the ciliate Paramecium tetraurelia as a unicellular model organism, the Bétermier lab studies how transposable elements and cellular DNA repair pathways contribute to programmed genome rearrangements and their epigenetic control.

Transposons and their host genomes

DNA transposons move around host genomes through the action of their cognate transposases. Transposon mobility drives the plasticity of host genomes by introducing mutations, modifying the regulation of gene expression or triggering ectopic recombination. Host organisms have developed various strategies to cope with transposon invasion, such as silencing through RNA interference, DNA methylation or embedment into heterochromatin, or transposon degeneration through accumulation of point mutations and deletions. DNA transposons have been classified in more than ten distinct families according to the structure of their respective transposases, the terminal inverted repeats (TIR) present at their ends and the details of their transposition mechanisms. Transposases usually bind specifically to transposon TIRs and cleave DNA to initiate transposition. During evolution, some transposase genes have been exapted by the host to become cellular genes. Except for a few of examples, however, the cellular function of “domesticated” transposases has remained elusive.

Paramecium: a model unicellular microorganism

Because of its unique nuclear dimorphism, the ciliate Paramecium has become an extraordinary unicellular model to study the impact of transposable elements on genome dynamics. As in other ciliates, two distinct nuclei coexist in Paramecium. The transcriptionally silent diploid micronucleus (MIC) contains the 100-Mbp germline genome that is transmitted to sexual progeny following meiosis. The polyploid somatic macronucleus (MAC) is responsible for gene transcription and essential for cell survival. At each sexual cycle, the parental MAC is destroyed and a new MAC differentiates from a copy of the zygotic nucleus, which contains the germline genome.

In the developing new MAC, the genome undergoes multiple rounds of endoreplication. Concomitantly, massive programmed genome rearrangements lead to elimination of 25 to 30 % of germline: (i) repeated sequences (transposons, minisatellites) are eliminated in association with chromosome fragmentation or heterogeneous internal deletions; (ii) 45,000 short, single copy, noncoding sequences scattered throughout the genome (IES, or internal eliminated sequences) are excised precisely to reconstitute functional open reading frames. At least a fraction of Paramecium IES are degenerated transposons related to the Tc/mariner family. However, no conserved TIR could be found at IES ends, and how these elements are specifically recognized for elimination remains an open question.

We identified recently several key actors of IES excision. PiggyMac, a potentially active domesticated transposase from the piggyBac family, is essential for the introduction of programmed DNA double-strand breaks (DSB) at IES ends. The classical nonhomologous end-joining (C-NHEJ) DSB repair pathway, involving a development-specific Ku70/Ku80 heterodimer and the Ligase IV/Xrcc4 complex, mediates highly precise repair of IES excision sites and allows the assembly of functional genes in the MAC. We recently demonstrated that DNA cleavage at IES ends is entirely dependent upon the presence of Ku proteins, which form a complex with PiggyMac in heterologous cell extracts. We are currently using molecular, biochemical and cellular approaches combined with reverse genetics and next-generation sequencing to study the PiggyMac complex and the mechanism of IES recognition within chromatin.

Keywords:

Ciliates, Paramecium, transposons, piggyBac, domesticated transposase, programmed genome rearrangements, epigenetics, DNA repair, NHEJ, double-strand breaks

Contacts


BETERMIER Mireille [Senior Researcher - CNRS]
Department of genomes biology [Leader]
Programmed genome rearrangements [Leader]
01 69 82 31 64 Gif - Bât 26


published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Biologie des Génomes > Mireille BETERMIER : Réarrangements programmés du génome

Mireille BETERMIER : Présentation de l’équipe

Chez de nombreux eucaryotes, l’élimination programmée de séquences germinales au cours du développement apporte de la plasticité au génome somatique. L’équipe Bétermier étudie, chez le cilié modèle Paramecium tetraurelia, la contribution des éléments transposables et des voies cellulaires de réparation de l’ADN aux réarrangements programmés et à leur contrôle épigénétique.

Les transposons et leurs hôtes

Les transposons ADN sont mobilisés grâce à leur transposase. Leur mobilité augmente la plasticité des génomes hôtes en introduisant des mutations, en modifiant les réseaux de régulation de l’expression génique ou en favorisant la recombinaison ectopique. Différentes stratégies de défense ont été développées par les hôtes en réponse à l’invasion par les transposons : inactivation par interférence ARN, méthylation de l’ADN, formation d’hétérochromatine, ou accumulation de mutations ponctuelles ou de délétions. Plus de dix familles de transposons ADN ont été répertoriées, en fonction de la structure de leurs transposases respectives, des inversions terminales répétées (ITR) à leurs extrémités et de leur mécanisme de transposition. Les transposases se fixent généralement de façon spécifique aux ITR de leur transposon et coupent l’ADN pour initier la transposition. Au cours de l’évolution, certains gènes de transposase sont devenus des gènes cellulaires mais de manière générale la fonction des transposases domestiquées reste mal connue.

La paramécie : un microorganisme unicellulaire modèle

Du fait de son dimorphisme nucléaire, la paramécie est un modèle extraordinaire pour étudier le rôle des transposons dans la dynamique des génomes. Comme tous les ciliés, elle possède deux noyaux différents. Le micronoyau (MIC), diploïde et non transcrit, renferme le génome germinal (100 Mbp) transmis à la descendance sexuelle. Le macronoyau (MAC) somatique, polyploïde, est le siège de la transcription génique et est essentiel pour la survie. A chaque cycle sexuel, le MAC parental est détruit et un nouveau MAC se différencie à partie d’une copie du noyau zygotique contenant le génome germinal.

Dans le MAC en développement, le génome subit plusieurs cycles d’endoréplication pendant lesquels des réarrangements massifs conduisent à l’élimination de 25 à 30% d’ADN germinal : (i) l’élimination de séquences répétées (transposons, minisatellites) est associée à la fragmentation chromosomique et provoque des délétions internes hétérogènes ; (ii) l’excision précise de 45 000 courtes séquences non-codantes (IES ou Internal Eliminated Sequences), réparties le long du génome mais chacune en copie unique, reconstitue des gènes fonctionnels. Au moins une partie des IES sont des transposons ancestraux Tc/mariner dégénérés. Cependant, aucune ITR reconnaissable n’a été conservée aux bornes des IES et la façon dont ces éléments sont reconnus pour être éliminés demeure une énigme.

Nous avons identifié plusieurs acteurs de l’excision des IES. PiggyMac, une transposase PiggyBac domestiquée potentiellement active, est essentielle pour l’introduction des coupures double-brin (CDB) aux extrémités des IES. La voie C-NHEJ classique de réparation des CDB par ligature directe d’extrémités, comprenant un hétérodimère Ku70/Ku80 spécifique du développement et le complexe Ligase IV/Xrcc4, répare précisément les sites d’excision des IES. Nous avons montré que la coupure des extrémités des IES dépend entièrement de la présence de l’hétérodimère Ku qui s’associe avec PiggyMac lorsque ces protéines sont co-exprimées dans un système hétérologue. Nous nous concentrons actuellement sur l’étude du complexe PiggyMac et du mécanisme de reconnaissance des IES dans la chromatine, grâce à des approches moléculaires, biochimiques et cellulaires, combinées à l’utilisation de méthodes de génétique inverse et de séquençage haut-débit.

Mots-clés :


Ciliés, Paramecium, transposons, piggyBac, transposase domestiquée, réarrangements programmés du génome, épigénétique, réparation de l’ADN, NHEJ, cassures double-brin

Contacts


BETERMIER Mireille [Directeur de Recherche - CNRS]
Département Biologie des Génomes [Adjoint]
Equipe Betermier M. - Réarrangements programmés du génome [Responsable]
01 69 82 31 64 Gif - Bât 26

publié le , mis à jour le