Search






Supervisory authorities

Our partners


Home > Departments > Genome Biology > Dominique FOURMY : Structure and dynamics of RNA

Dominique FOURMY : Group Presentation

We are working at the interface of several disciplines. Our current work focuses on understanding protein synthesis using molecular and structural approaches with some new developments in nanotechnology.

Research interests

Translation is a key process in biology and it finalizes gene expression. A large ribonucleoprotein particle called the ribosome is responsible for decoding the genetic code written on the mRNA and synthetizing the corresponding polypeptides. In bacteria, the multistep process of translation is the target of most of the clinically used antibiotics. Bacterial drug resistance has become a serious threat to human health and even the best bactericidal antibiotics can be inefficient against dormant bacteria. Therefore it is crucial to understand better how currently available antibiotics kill bacteria. We are interested in discovering the mechanism of action of some of the most commonly used antibiotics. We are combining different tools from molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry and fluorescence microscopy.

For eukaryotes, protein synthesis is mainly regulated at the step of initiation rather than during the phases of elongation and termination. This mechanism allows a strict control of gene expression. Translation initiation is a complex process where more than 10 factors are involved. We are investigating the mechanism of action of some of these factors and how they regulate initiation.

Finally, it is essential to characterize translation in live cells and we are developing new tools toward this goal. Ribosome is essential to life and understanding its function at the molecular level will impact biology and medicine. Our study of translation is linked with antimicrobial therapy, cancer and cell infection by retroviruses.

mRNA recognition by winged-helix domains of elongation factor SelB.
Digital cell free protein synthesis from single DNA molecules in microchamber arrays.Scale bar is 50 µm.

Key Words :

Translation, ribosome, antibiotic, initiation, antibiotherapy, nanotechnology, microscopy, fluorescence.

Contacts :


FOURMY Dominique [Senior Researcher - CNRS]
Structure and dynamics of RNA [Leader]
01 69 82 38 84 Gif - Bât 26


YOSHIZAWA Satoko [Senior Researcher - CNRS]
Structure and dynamics of RNA
01 69 82 38 84 Gif - Bât 26

published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Biologie des Génomes > Dominique FOURMY : Structure et dynamique des ARN

Dominique FOURMY : Présentation de l’équipe

Nous travaillons à l’interface de plusieurs disciplines. Nos travaux actuels portent sur l’étude de la synthèse des protéines par des approches moléculaires et structurales avec de nouveaux développements en nanotechnologie.

Thématique

La traduction est un processus clé en biologie et elle est l’étape finale de l’expression des gènes. Un complexe ribonucléoprotéique appelé le ribosome permet le décodage de l’information génétique encodée dans l’ARNm et la synthèse de polypeptides. Chez les bactéries, la synthèse des protéines passe par de nombreuses étapes qui sont ciblées par la plupart des antibiotiques utilisés en médecine. Les mécanismes de résistance aux antibiotiques sont une menace sérieuse pour la santé et même les meilleurs antibiotiques bactéricides peuvent être inefficaces contre des bactéries tolérantes. C’est pourquoi il est important de comprendre comment les antibiotiques utilisés actuellement tuent les bactéries. Nous nous focalisons sur certains antibiotiques parmi les plus utilisés.

Chez les eucaryotes, la synthèse des protéines est principalement régulée à l’étape de démarrage plutôt que dans les étapes d’élongation et de terminaison. Ce mécanisme permet un contrôle strict de l’expression des gènes. L’initiation est un processus complexe qui fait intervenir plus de 10 facteurs. Nous étudions le mécanisme d’action de certains facteurs et comment ils régulent de démarrage de la traduction.

Enfin, il est essentiel de caractériser la traduction dans des cellules vivantes et nous développons de nouveaux outils dans ce but. Le ribosome est essentiel à la vie cellulaire et la caractérisation de sa fonction au niveau moléculaire aura un impact en biologie et médecine. Notre étude de la traduction est liée à l’antibiothérapie, au cancer et à l’infection cellulaire par des rétrovirus.

Reconnaissance de l’ARNm par des domaines winged-helix du facteur d’élongation SelB
Traduction in vitro digitalisée à partir de molécules uniques d’ADN dans des microchambres en réseau. Barre d’échelle 50µm.

Mots-clés :

Traduction, ribosome, antibiotique, initiation, antibiothérapie, nanotechnologie, microscopie, fluorescence.

Contacts :


FOURMY Dominique [Directeur de Recherche - CNRS]
Equipe Fourmy D. - Structure et dynamique des ARN [Responsable]
01 69 82 38 84 Gif - Bât 26


YOSHIZAWA Satoko [Directeur de Recherche - CNRS]
Equipe Fourmy D. - Structure et dynamique des ARN
01 69 82 38 84 Gif - Bât 26

publié le , mis à jour le