Search






Supervisory authorities

Our partners


Home > Departments > Genome Biology > Julie SOUTOURINA : Genome transcriptional regulation

Julie SOUTOURINA : Group Presentation

The group is interested in molecular mechanisms of eukaryotic transcriptional regulation in vivo on the genomic scale. We use the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae and human cells and apply integrative approaches to understand how the transcriptional regulation works and how transcription is coordinated with others nuclear processes like DNA repair.

Research subjects

1 – Genome-wide mechanisms of transcriptional regulation in eukaryotes

In eukaryotes, transcription as a first step of gene expression is tightly regulated and many multiprotein complexes are implicated in this essential process. Mediator of transcription regulation is one of these complexes essential during the activation of RNA polymerase II. This coactivator is responsible for the recruitment of RNA polymerase II to promoters in response to transcription activators. Mediator is a large multi-protein complex (1.5MDa) composed of 25 - 30 subunits and conserved in all eukaryotes. As expected given its central role in transcription activation, mutations in its subunits are involved in pathologies like cancers. The crucial role of Mediator in transcription activation is now largely accepted. However, the complexity of this complex has precluded a detailed understanding of the mechanisms of its action that is one of the keys for understanding gene expression regulation. Previously, using the two-hybrid approach we proposed a model of the organization of the complex (Guglielmi et al. 2004). Many interactions that we uncovered were confirmed by crystallographic studies.
The general transcription factor TFIIS, that plays an important role in transcription elongation, cooperates with Mediator in the activation of a subset of the yeast genome (Guglielmi et al. 2007). We demonstrated that TFIIS plays also an important role in RNA polymerase III transcription, stimulating the transcription of this class of genes (Ghavi-Helm et al. 2008). We further extended this work on the genome of mouse embryonic stem cells and found that TFIIS function in RNA polymerase III transcription is conserved in mammals (Carrière et al. 2012). These findings have led to reconsider and to extend largely the role of TFIIS transcription factor in genome expression.
We are now interested in the role of Mediator in transcription activation and, in particular, in preinitiation complex formation. Using the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae as our main model and integrative biology approaches, we have established the role of Mediator in the recruitment of Pol II and a general transcription factor TFIIH, contributing to our understanding of Mediator function. Our study has led to the discovery of an essential role of Mediator in TFIIH general transcription factor recruitment and allows us to propose a new model in preinitiation complex formation during transcription activation (Esnault et al. 2008). We identified one subunit in Mediator and one in RNA polymerase II that directly contact each other. We showed that this contact is required for transcription of all genes in yeast, dissecting an essential mechanism for the expression of genomes in eukaryotes (Soutourina et al. 2011).
Currently, we are investigating the role of the 10 essential subunits of Mediator in stimulating the assembly of preinitiation complexes genome-wide using genetic, biochemical and functional genomics approaches. We are trying to uncover the rules that determine the pathways of assembly of preinitiation complexes in vivo.

Figure 1: The first step of transcription activation consists in the recruitment of the Mediator complex by transcription activation. The complex can then recruit RNA polymerase II or TFIIE and cTFIIH general transcription factors. These intermediates can lead to the formation of a full preinitiation complex through various “branched” pathways.

2 – Mediator functions beyond transcription

Transcription is coupled with DNA repair, ensuring the continuity of Pol II progression. DNA lesions can potentially lead to problems in development, cell growth and survival. Proteins first identified as components of transcription or DNA repair machineries may be involved in both processes, like TFIIH. Nucleotide-excision DNA repair (NER) is a major DNA repair pathway that removes DNA lesions such as cyclobutane pyrimidine dimers (CPD) arising upon UV irradiation. Global genome repair pathway removes DNA lesions in the genome overall, and transcription-coupled repair removes DNA lesions that interfere with the progression of Pol II through actively-transcribed genes. While the NER reaction and the components required for efficient DNA lesion recognition and repair are fairly well understood in vitro, many questions on the active coupling of DNA repair with transcription remain still unanswered in vivo, notably on the genomic scale.
Our two-hybrid screening with Mediator subunits (Guglielmi et al. 2004) permits us to uncover a number of interactions between Mediator and other components of the nucleus (unpublished data). One particularly interesting interaction that we have identified is the contact between one of the Mediator subunits and a DNA repair protein. We uncovered a new role of Mediator by connecting transcription and DNA repair via this direct contact with Rad2 endonuclease, the yeast homolog of human XPG protein (Eyboulet et al. 2013). Mutations in human XPG gene give rise to a xeroderma pigmentosum (XP) associated with Cockayne syndrome (CS) disease. Our results indicated that Mediator is involved in transcription-coupled DNA repair by facilitating Rad2 recruitment to transcribed genes. We propose that in addition to its fundamental coactivator role, Mediator acts in essential nuclear processes beyond transcription (Eyboulet et al. 2014; Soutourina & Werner 2014).

©CEA/J. Soutourina

Figure 2: Coactivator function of Mediator in Pol II transcription and a new role of this complex in transcription-coupled DNA repair via a direct contact with Rad2/XPG.

Key words :

Budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae; Mammalian cells; Transcription regulation; Transcription-coupled repair; RNA polymerase; Mediator; Rad2/XPG; TFIIS; xeroderma pigmentosum/Cockayne syndrome; Functional genomics

Contact :


SOUTOURINA Julie [Researcher - CEA]
Department of genomes biology [Deputy]
Genome transcriptional regulation [Leader]
01 69 08 54 13 Saclay - Bât 144

published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Biologie des Génomes > Julie SOUTOURINA : Régulation transcriptionnelle des génomes

Julie SOUTOURINA : Présentation de l’équipe

L’équipe s’intéresse aux mécanismes moléculaires de la régulation transcriptionnelle in vivo à l’échelle du génome chez les eucaryotes. Notre but est de comprendre le fonctionnement de la régulation transcriptionnelle et la coordination entre la transcription et les processus nucléaires notamment la réparation de l’ADN par les approches de biologie intégrative.


Nous recherchons un ingénieur de recherche en CDD

Thèmes de recherche

1 - Régulation de la transcription à l’échelle du génome chez les eucaryotes (Julie Soutourina, Michel Werner)

Chez les eucaryotes, la transcription est hautement régulée et implique de nombreux complexes multiprotéiques. Un de ces complexes, le Médiateur de la régulation transcriptionnelle, joue un rôle crucial dans l’activation de la transcription par l’ARN polymérase II (Pol II), car il intègre les signaux des facteurs de transcription spécifiques et stimule le recrutement de la Pol II. Cependant, la complexité du Médiateur a empêché la compréhension détaillée de ses mécanismes d’action, essentielle pour l’étude de la régulation d’expression des gènes. Précédemment, en utilisant l’approche du double-hybride nous avons proposé un modèle d’organisation du complexe Médiateur (Guglielmi et al. 2004). Des études cristallographiques ont confirmé un grand nombre des interactions entre les sous-unités du Médiateur que nous avions observées.
Nous avons montré que le facteur général TFIIS, qui joue un rôle important dans l’élongation de la transcription, coopère avec le Médiateur pour activer la transcription d’un sous-ensemble de gènes (Guglielmi et al. 2007). En outre, nous avons démontré que TFIIS, en stimulant la transcription des gènes de classe III, est un des facteurs importants de cette transcription (Ghavi-Helm et al. 2008). Nous avons étendu ce travail aux cellules embryonnaires de souris et montré que le rôle de TFIIS dans la transcription des gènes de classe III est conservé chez les mammifères (Carrière et al. 2012). Ces résultats ont amené à reconsidérer et à étendre le rôle du facteur TFIIS dans les mécanismes d’expression du génome.
Nos travaux portent actuellement sur le rôle joué par le Médiateur dans l’activation de la transcription et, plus particulièrement, dans la formation du complexe de préinitiation. En utilisant la puissance de la levure Saccharomyces cerevisiae comme notre modèle principal et les approches de biologie intégrative, nous avons démontré les liens essentiels de ce complexe avec les composants de la machinerie transcriptionnelle, comme le facteur TFIIH et l’ARN polymérase II, en contribuant à la compréhension du fonctionnement du Médiateur. Notre travail a permis de mettre en évidence pour la première fois que le Médiateur est essentiel au recrutement du facteur général de transcription TFIIH et de proposer un nouveau modèle décrivant la formation du complexe de préinitiation lors de l’activation de la transcription (Esnault et al. 2008). Nous avons mis en évidence une interaction directe entre une sous-unité du Médiateur et une sous-unité de l’ARN polymérase II. Nous avons démontré que cette interaction est requise pour la transcription de tous les gènes de la levure, disséquant ainsi un mécanisme essentiel de l’expression du génome chez les eucaryotes (Soutourina et al. 2011).
Nous nous intéressons actuellement au rôle des 10 sous-unités essentielles du Médiateur dans l’assemblage du complexe de préinitiation sur le génome en mettant en œuvre des approches génomiques. Nous souhaitons comprendre les règles qui déterminent les voies d’assemblage du complexe d’initiation in vivo.

Figure 1 : La première étape de l’activation de la transcription est le recrutement du Médiateur par les activateurs de la transcription. Ce dernier peut ensuite recruter l’ARN polymérase II ou les facteurs généraux TFIIE et cTFIIH pour aller jusqu’à l’assemblage du complexe de préinitiation par une voie branchée.

2 - Fonctions du Médiateur au delà de la transcription (Julie Soutourina)

La transcription est couplée à la réparation de l’ADN afin d’assurer la continuité de la progression de la Pol II. Les dommages à l’ADN peuvent conduire à des problèmes du développement, de la croissance cellulaire et de la survie. Des composants de la machinerie de la transcription ou de la réparation de l’ADN peuvent participer aux deux processus. La réparation de l’ADN par excision des nucléotides (NER) est une voie majeure de la réparation de l’ADN nécessaire à la réparation des dimères cyclobutaniques de pyrimidines (CPD), les lésions induites par les UVs. La voie de la réparation du génome global opère sur l’ensemble des séquences génomiques et la réparation couplée à la transcription répare les dommages à l’ADN qui interfèrent avec la progression de la Pol II. La réaction NER et les composants requis pour la reconnaissance efficace des lésions d’ADN et leur réparation sont bien connus in vitro. Cependant, la coordination active entre la transcription et la réparation de l’ADN in vivo, notamment au niveau génomique, reste encore à étudier.
Le crible double hybride des sous-unités du Médiateur (Guglielmi et al. 2004) nous a permis de mettre en évidence des interactions de sous-unités du Médiateur avec des protéines appartenant à d’autres complexes macromoléculaires (données non publiées). La mise en évidence d’une interaction entre une sous-unité du Médiateur et la protéine appartenant à la machinerie de réparation à l’ADN, nous a permis à découvrir un nouveau rôle du complexe Médiateur liant la transcription et la réparation de l’ADN via un contact direct avec Rad2, l’homologue de la protéine XPG humaine (Eyboulet et al. 2013). Des mutations dans le gène XPG humain provoquent une maladie génétique, xeroderma pigmentosum (XP), associée au syndrome de Cockayne (CS). Nos résultats indiquent que le Médiateur est impliqué dans la réparation couplée à la transcription en facilitant le recrutement de Rad2 sur les gènes transcrits. Nous proposons que le Médiateur, en plus de sa fonction fondamentale coactivatrice, agit également au delà de la transcription (Eyboulet et al. 2014 ; Soutourina & Werner 2014).

©CEA/J. Soutourina

Figure 2 : Fonction coactivatrice du Médiateur dans la transcription par la Pol II et nouveau rôle de ce complexe dans la réparation de l’ADN couplée à la transcription dépendant de Rad2/XPG.

3 - Transcription chez les mammifères (Michel Werner)

Nous nous intéressons à l’étude de la transcription des gènes de classe III depuis de nombreuses années et avons contribué à l’identification in vivo dans la levure des gènes transcrits par l’ARN polymérase III (Harismendy et al. 2003). Nous avons étendu ces analyses de génome à celui de cellules souches embryonnaires de souris et montré que, dans ces cellules, seul un sous-ensemble des gènes codant les ARNt est transcrit. De plus, nous avons identifié de nouveaux gènes transcrits par cette enzyme et décrit le jeu des SINEs actifs (Carrière et al. 2012). En se basant sur l’expérience acquise, nous étudions actuellement au sein du consortium européen EuraTrans, les variations de l’association de l’ARN polymérase II sur le génome de souches de rat congéniques afin de comprendre ce qui détermine leur pré-disposition à développer des maladies spécifiques (Rintisch et al. 2014).

Mots-clés :

Levures Saccharomyces cerevisiae ; Cellules de mammifères ; Régulation transcriptionnelle ; Réparation couplée à la transcription ; ARN polymérase ; Médiateur ; Rad2/XPG ; TFIIS ; xeroderma pigmentosum/syndrome de Cockayne ; Génomique fonctionnelle

Contact :


SOUTOURINA Julie [Chercheur - CEA]
Equipe Soutourina J. - Régulation transcriptionnelle des génomes [Responsable]
01 69 08 54 13 Saclay - Bât 144

publié le , mis à jour le