Search






Supervisory authorities

Our partners


Home > Departments > Microbiology > Jacques OBERTO : Cell Biology of Archaea

Jacques OBERTO : Group Presentation

Research conducted by the CBA group is deeply rooted in the biology of Archaea, which are microorganisms discovered in 1977 by Carl Woese. In the tree of life, the Archaea constitute a new domain in its own right, next to the Eukarya domain and the Bacteria domain. A key feature of these Archaea consists of their particular natural environments which often includes one or more condition(s): temperature, pH, salinity, anaerobic and barometric pressure. Archaea therefore extend life in environments where no other organism is capable of surviving. To better understand the evolutionary mechanisms that led to the existence of Archaea, we use a multidisciplinary approach involving genetics, genomics, bioinformatics and biochemistry. Three main topics are currently being pursued: the evolution and genome dynamics in the Archaea Thermococcales; the characterization of the KEOPS complex and prokaryotic genomes bioinformatics.

Project

1) Evolution and genome dynamics in the Archaea Thermococcales.

We study the evolution of genetic information in Archaea of the order Thermococcales. These anaerobic hyperthermophilic organisms evolve rapidly, which seems to be related to the particular conditions of their habitat consisting of black smokers on the ocean floor. We observe the impact of mobile elements (plasmids and viruses) in this evolution. Several new archeal plasmids and strains containing them have been characterized in the laboratory (1, 2). The discovery of membrane vesicles produced by these organisms could also explain the transfer of genetic information between different Archaea and also between Archaea and Bacteria (3-5). With the establishment of a dedicated platform to cultivate hyperthermophilic anaerobes, we are able to reproduce the ideal conditions for growing these extremophile Archaea in the laboratory (Figure 1).

Anaerobic chamber - Archaea
Anaerobic chamber for the manipulation of Archaea Thermococcales

We develop Thermococcales genetics in the model organism Thermococcus kodakarensis. A new species, Thermococcus nautili was characterized in the laboratory (6) and its genome has been determined (7). We develop, in parallel, in silico bioinformatic analysis of these prokaryotic genomes through the deployment of a suite of dedicated web services (8-11), see also below. The study of the dynamics and the maintenance of this genetic information is also pursued by the characterization of novel DNA topoisomerases in the three domains of life (12-14).

2) Characterization of the KEOPS complex.

The t6A tRNA modification is present in the three domains of life. In Archaea and Eukaryotes, the multi-protein complex KEOPS is responsible for this activity which is carried by bacteria by another complex, DEZ as it was demonstrated in the group Valérie de Crécy-Lagard in United States. This t6A modification is essential: mutations in these complexes are deleterious (15). The proteins making up the archaeal complex KEOPS were overproduced and purified in the laboratory, and their structure was determined in collaboration. We were able to reproduce for the first time the complete t6A modification reaction in vitro using the KEOPS complex purified from the Archaea Pyrococcus abyssi and the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae with the addition of protein SUA5 (16). It was also observed that the archaeal KEOPS complex can be replaced in vitro by the bacterial DEZ complex, even if the homology between these complexes is only partial. To better understand the role of the P. abyssi complex KEOPS, the different subunits were purified separately and combined to form a variety of dimers and trimers each tested in t6A reactions, ATP hydrolysis and tRNA binding. This allowed to deduct the role of each subunit and to propose a model for the complete modification reaction (17), see Figure 2. It has also been demonstrated in the laboratory that in vitro synthesis of t6A is possible using yeast SUA5 protein and mitochondrial protein QRI7 (18).

t6A & KEOPS + SUA5
Model for the t6a modification reaction by the KEOPS complex + SUA5 in Eukaryotes and Archaea (Perrochia et al. 2013b).

3) Prokaryotic genomes bioinformatics

For several years, we have been developing software under the form of web services for the handling and analysis of genomic sequences of 3,000 fully sequenced prokaryotic organisms which are maintained locally and updated daily. The BAGET service provides fast and easy access to any gene sequence and to its immediate context from any of these organisms . FITBAR predicts regulons across entire genomes on the basis of specific sites provided by the user . ABSYNTE can analyze the conservation of gene order (synteny) in a user-selected list of genomes . SYNTTAX allows synteny analysis according to the taxonomic classification of the different species.

BAGET: http://archaea.u-psud.fr/bin/baget.dll
FITBAR: http://archaea.u-psud.fr/fitbar
ABSYNTE: http://archaea.u-psud.fr/absynte
SYNTTAX: http://archaea.u-psud.fr/synttax

Genomic web services developed in the group

Keywords

Archaea, Thermococcales, genetics, genomics, genome evolution, bioinformatics, biochemistry, tRNA modification.

Contact


OBERTO Jacques [Senior Researcher - CNRS]
Cell Biology of Archae [Leader]
01 69 82 61 69 Gif - Bât 12

published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Microbiologie > Jacques OBERTO : Biologie Cellulaire des Archées

Jacques OBERTO : Présentation de l’équipe

Les recherches menées par le groupe BCA sont fortement ancrées dans la biologie des Archées, des microorganismes découverts en 1977 par Carl Woese. Dans l’arbre du vivant, les Archées constituent un nouveau domaine à part entière, à côté du domaine des Eucaryotes et du domaine des Bactéries. Une des principales caractéristiques de ces Archées est constituée par leur environnement naturel particulier qui comporte souvent une ou plusieurs condition(s) extrême(s) : température, pH, salinité, anaérobiose et pression barométrique. Les Archées étendent dès lors la vie dans des environnements où aucun autre organisme n’est à même de survivre. Afin de mieux comprendre les mécanismes évolutifs qui ont conduit à l’existence des Archées, nous utilisons un approche pluridisciplinaire faisant intervenir génétique, génomique, bioinformatique et biochimie. Trois thématiques principales sont poursuivies actuellement : l’évolution et dynamique du génomique chez les Archées Thermococcales ; la caractérisation du complexe KEOPS et la bioinformatique des génomes procaryotes.

Thèmes de recherche

1) Evolution et dynamique du génomique chez les Archées Thermococcales.

Nous étudions l’évolution de l’information génétique des Archées de l’ordre des Thermococcales. Ces organismes hyperthermophiles anaérobies évoluent rapidement ce qui semble être lié aux conditions particulières de leur habitat constitué par les fumeurs noirs des fonds océaniques. Nous observons l’influence d’éléments mobiles (plasmides et virus) dans cette évolution. Plusieurs nouveaux plasmides archéens et les souches qui les contiennent ont été caractérisés au laboratoire (1, 2). La découverte de vésicules de membrane produites par ces organismes pourrait également expliquer le transfert d’information génétique entre différentes Archées et même entre Archées et Bactéries (3-5). La mise en place d’une plateforme dédiée à la culture d’organismes anaérobies hyperthermophiles, nous permet de reproduire les conditions idéales pour cultiver ces Archées extrêmophiles au laboratoire.

Chambre anaérobie - Archées
Chambre anaérobie destinée à la manipulation des Archées Thermococcales

Nous développons la génétique des Thermococcales dans l’organisme modèle Thermococcus kodakarensis. Une nouvelle espèce, Thermococcus nautili a été caractérisée au laboratoire (6) et son génome a été déterminé (7). Nous développons, en parallèle, l’analyse bioinformatique in silico de ces génomes procaryotes grâce au déploiement d’une suite de services web dédiés (8-11), voir également plus bas. L’étude de la dynamique et du maintien de cette information génétique est également poursuivie par la caractérisation de nouvelles ADN topoisomérases dans les trois domaines du vivant (12-14).

2) Caractérisation du complexe KEOPS.

La modification t6A de l’ARNt est présente dans les trois domaines du vivant. Chez les Archées et les Eucaryotes, le complexe multi-protéique KEOPS est responsable de cette activité qui est assurée chez les Bactéries par un autre complexe, DEZ comme cela a été démontré dans le groupe de Valérie de Crécy-Lagard aux Etats-Unis. Cette modification t6A est essentielle : des mutations dans ces complexes sont délétères (15). Les protéines constituant le complexe KEOPS archéen ont été surproduites et purifiées au laboratoire et leur structure a été déterminée en collaboration. Nous avons pu reproduire pour la première fois la réaction complète de modification t6A, in vitro, grâce aux complexes KEOPS purifiés provenant de l’Archée Pyrococcus abyssi et de la levure Saccharomyces cerevisiae et additionnés de la protéine SUA5 (16). Il a également été observé que le complexe KEOPS Archéen peut être remplacé in vitro par le complexe bactérien DEZ, même si l’homologie entre ces différents complexes n’est que partielle. Pour mieux comprendre le rôle des différentes sous-unités du complexe KEOPS de P. abyssi, elles ont été purifiées séparément et combinées de manière à constituer une variété de dimères et trimères chacun testés pour la réaction t6A, hydrolyse de l’ATP et liaison à l’ARNt. Ceci a permis de déduire le rôle de chaque sous-unité et de proposer un modèle pour la réaction de modification complète (17), voir Figure 2. Il a également pu être démontré au laboratoire que la synthèse in vitro de t6A est possible grâce la protéine SUA5 de levure et la protéine mitochondriale QRI7 (18).

t6A & KEOPS + SUA5
Modèle pour la réaction de modification t6A par le complexe KEOPS + SUA5 chez les Archées et les Eucaryotes (Perrochia et al., 2013b).

3) Bioinformatique des génomes procaryotes.

Depuis plusieurs nous développons des logiciels sous forme de services web pour la manipulation et l’analyse de séquences génomiques des quelques 3000 organismes procaryotes complètement séquencés qui sont maintenus localement et mis à jour quotidiennement. Le service BAGET permet d’obtenir rapidement aisément la séquence et l’environnement immédiat de n’importe quel gène issu de ces organismes (9). FITBAR permet de prédire des régulons, à l’échelle d’un génome complet sur base de sites spécifiques fournis par l’utilisateur (10). ABSYNTE permet d’analyser la conservation de l’ordre des gènes (synténie) dans une liste d’organismes déterminée par l’itilisateur (8). SYNTTAX permet d’analyser la synténie en fonction de la classification taxonomique des différentes espèces (11) (Figure 3).

BAGET : http://archaea.u-psud.fr/bin/baget.dll
FITBAR : http://archaea.u-psud.fr/fitbar
ABSYNTE : http://archaea.u-psud.fr/absynte
SYNTTAX : http://archaea.u-psud.fr/synttax

Services web d’analyse génomique développés dans le groupe.

Mots-clé

Archaea, Thermococcales, génétique, génomique, évolution des génomes, bioinformatique, biochimie, modification des ARNt.

Contact


OBERTO Jacques [Chargé de Recherche - CNRS]
Equipe Oberto J. - Biologie Cellulaire des Archées [Responsable]
01 69 15 62 05 Orsay - Bât 409

publié le , mis à jour le