Search






Supervisory authorities

CNRS

Our partners


Home > Research > Microbiology > Denis FAURE & Peter MERGAERT : Plant-Bacteria Interactions

Denis FAURE & Peter MERGAERT : Group Presentation

The team studies how plants and which plant functions (enzymes, metabolites, and signals) have an impact on the bacteria living in association with them. Reciprocally, the team analyses the microbiota functions which interfere with plant functions and development. Our environment model is the rhizosphere, and our model organisms are mainly the endosymbiotic Rhizobium bacteria and legumes, and the pathogens Agrobacterium, Pectobacterium and Dickeya and their host plants.

Our research aims at understanding (1) the global interactions of plants with microbiota, especially in the rhizosphere (bacterial community structure and functions); (2) plant-bacteria interactions using specific bacterial populations as models such as those of the pathogens (Agrobacterium, Pectobacterium and Dickeya), and those of the symbiotic bacteria that the rhizobia are (Rhizobium, Sinorhizobium and Bradyrhizobium). We also investigate agronomic and environmental issues, such as the evaluation of ecological impact of GMO plants and the development of innovative and environmentally friendly biocontrol approaches to protect plants from pathogens.

We develop functional molecular approaches in plants and bacteria to study bacteria-to-bacteria signaling (quorum-sensing), plant-to-bacteria signaling, and bacteria-to-plant signaling. We also develop metagenomics for the analysis of bacterial population/community structures and functions.


Our research is divided in 4 principal projects:

Project 1 : Controlling endosymbiotic bacteria with antimicrobial peptides

Project 2 : The Agrobacterium tumefaciens lifestyle in the plant tumor

Project 3 : The rhizosphere microbiome

Project 4 : Plant protection using biocontrol agents


Keywords

Plant-bacteria interactions, rhizosphere, symbiosis, pathogens, biocontrol, signalling, quorum-sensing, anti-microbial peptides, genomics, transcriptomics, GMO.


Contacts


FAURE Denis [Senior Researcher - CNRS]
Equipe Faure D. et Mergaert P. - Interactions Plantes-Bactéries [Leader]
01 69 82 34 98 Gif - Bât 34


MERGAERT Peter [Senior Researcher - CNRS]
Equipe Faure D. et Mergaert P. - Interactions Plantes-Bactéries [Leader]
01 69 82 34 81 Gif - Bât 34

published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Microbiologie > Denis FAURE & Peter MERGAERT : Interactions Plantes-Bactéries

Denis FAURE & Peter MERGAERT : Présentation de l’équipe

L’équipe étudie comment les plantes et quelles fonctions (enzymes, métabolites et signaux) exercent une influence sur les bactéries vivant en association avec elles. Réciproquement, l’équipe analyse les fonctions du microbiote qui interfèrent avec les fonctions et le développement des plantes. Notre modèle d’environnement est la rhizosphère, et nos organismes modèles sont principalement les bactéries endosymbiotiques Rhizobium et pathogènes Agrobacterium, Pectobacterium et Dickeya et leurs plantes hôtes.

Notre recherche a pour objectifs de comprendre (1) les interactions globales entre les plantes et leurs microbiotes, plus particulièrement dans la rhizosphère (structure et fonctions des communautés bactériennes) ; (2) les interactions entre les plantes et des populations spécifiques comme celles de pathogènes (Agrobacterium, Pectobacterium et Dickeya) et de symbiotes (Rhizobium, Sinorhizobium et Bradyrhizobium). Nous abordons également des questions d’importance environnementale et agronomique, comme l’évaluation de l’impact écologique des plantes génétiquement modifiées (GMO) et le développement d’approche de lutte biologique à faible impact environnemental afin de protéger les plantes des pathogènes.

Nous développons des approches de biologie fonctionnelle intégrative chez les plantes et les bactéries pour étudier les signalisations bactéries-bactéries (quorum-sensing), plante-bactéries, et bactéries-plante. Nous utilisons également la métagénomique pour l’analyse de la structure et le fonctionnement des populations/communautés bactériennes.


Notre recherche comporte 4 projets principales :

Projet 1 : Contrôle des bactéries endosymbiotiques par les peptides antimicrobiens

Projet 2 : Le mode de vie d’Agrobacterium tumefaciens dans les tumeurs végétales

Projet 3 : Le microbiote de la rhizosphère

Projet 4 : Protection des plantes par des agents de biocontrôle


Mots-clés

Interactions plantes-bactéries, rhizosphère, symbiose, pathogènes, biocontrôle, signalisation, quorum-sensing, peptides antimicrobiens, génomique, transcriptomique, OGM. 


Contacts


FAURE Denis [Directeur de Recherche - CNRS]
Equipe Faure D. et Mergaert P. - Interactions Plantes-Bactéries [Responsable]
01 69 82 34 98 Gif - Bât 34


MERGAERT Peter [Directeur de Recherche - CNRS]
Equipe Faure D. et Mergaert P. - Interactions Plantes-Bactéries [Responsable]
01 69 82 34 81 Gif - Bât 34

publié le , mis à jour le