Search






Supervisory authorities

Our partners


Home > Departments > Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology > Winfried LEIBL : Photocatalysis and Biohydrogen

Winfried LEIBL : Group Presentation

Bioenergetics, photobiology and photochemistry are the principal domains of our scientific projects. We are interested in the fundamental mechanisms at work in biological or bio-inspired systems which are directly or indirectly activated by light :
• Biochemistry and enzymology of hydrogenases
• Reaction mechanisms of DNA photolyases and cryptochromes
• Design of molecular, bio-inspired photocatalysts

Our group has a long-standing expertise in the study of structure-function relationship in natural photosynthetic systems using a broad range of advanced spectroscopic and photoelectrochemical techniques. Photosynthetic reaction centers in fact represent ideal model systems to investigate reactions of fundamental importance also in other, not photoactive, biological systems. With the use of short laser flashes it is possible to induce the reaction sequences in all complexes in a synchronized way, to study the dynamic properties of the system and to characterize unstable reaction intermediates. In particular, flash excitation allows adding or removing electrons one by one, which is an important aspect in the study of multi-electron reactions often characteristic of catalytic reactions.

The central theme, common to all research projects of the group, is photocatalysis. In different projects we study biological or bio-inspired systems that use the energy of a photon to perform a chemical reaction. The main scientific aim is to understand the underlying reaction mechanisms by elucidating the key processes involved in the photocatalytic process: formation of an excited state, its conversion into reducing or oxidizing power by charge separation reactions, electron transfer and eventual associated proton transfer processes to/from catalytic sites, charge storage on these sites, as well as subsequent chemical transformations.

Three major subjects are studied in our research group: A) Design of molecular, bio-inspired photocatalysts (responsible: W. Leibl); B) Biochemistry and enzymology of hydrogenases (responsible: H. Bottin) and C) Reaction mechanisms of DNA photolyases and cryptochromes (responsible: K. Brettel).

Key words

Biocatalysis; Artificial photosynthesis; Hydrogen; Photolyase; Cryptochrome; Hydrogenase

Contact


LEIBL Winfried [Researcher - CEA]
Photocatalysis and Biohydrogen [Leader]
01 69 08 52 89 Saclay - Bât 532

published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Biochimie, Biophysique et Biologie Structurale > Winfried LEIBL : Photocatalyse et Biohydrogène

Winfried LEIBL : Présentation de l’équipe

Nos projets scientifiques s’organisent autour de la bioénergétique, la photobiologie et la photochimie. Nous nous intéressons aux mécanismes fondamentaux des systèmes biologiques ou bio-inspirés, activés directement ou indirectement par la lumière :
• Biochimie et enzymologie des hydrogénases
• Mécanismes réactionnels des photolyases de l’ADN et de cryptochromes
• Conception de photocatalyseurs moléculaires bio-inspirés

Projet

Notre groupe a une longue expérience dans le domaine des études sur les relations structure-fonction des systèmes photosynthétiques naturels par des techniques de spectroscopie et photoélectrochimie. Les centres réactionnels photosynthétiques représentent des systèmes modèles idéals pour étudier des réactions importantes également dans d’autres systèmes biologiques, qui ne sont pas photoactifs. En utilisant des impulsions laser de courte durée il est possible d’induire des séquences réactionnelles d’une façon synchrone dans tous les complexes et d’étudier les propriétés dynamiques du système et de caractériser des états intermédiaires transitoires. En outre, le déclenchement de la réaction par un photon permet d’envoyer (ou extraire) des électrons un par un, ce qui est très utile pour l’étude des processus multiélectroniques, souvent caractéristiques des réactions de catalyse.

Les projets scientifiques du laboratoire s’organisent autour de la photocatalyse comme thématique centrale. Dans les différents thèmes nous nous intéressons à des systèmes, biologiques ou bio-inspirés, qui utilisent l’énergie d’un photon pour effectuer une réaction chimique. Le principal objectif est la compréhension du mécanisme réactionnel par l’investigation des étapes clés : la formation d’un état excité, sa conversion en pouvoir réducteur et/ou oxydant par des réactions de séparation de charge, le transfert d’électrons vers des sites catalytiques et les éventuels processus de (dé)protonation associés, le stockage de charges sur ces sites ainsi que ses transformations chimiques résultantes.

Trois sujets principaux sont étudiés dans notre équipe : A) Conception de photocatalyseurs moléculaires bio-inspirés (responsable : W. Leibl) ; B) Biochimie et enzymologie des hydrogénases (responsable : H. Bottin) and C) Mécanismes réactionnels des photolyases de l’ADN et de cryptochromes (responsable : K. Brettel).

Mots-clés

Biocatalyse ; Photosynthèse artificielle ; Hydrogène ; Photolyase ; Cryptochrome ; Hydrogénase

Contact


LEIBL Winfried [Chercheur - CEA]
Equipe Leibl W. - Photocatalyse et Biohydrogène [Responsable]
01 69 08 52 89 Saclay - Bât 532

publié le , mis à jour le