Search






Supervisory authorities

CNRS

Our partners


Home > Research > Virology

Virology Departement

Leader : Yves GAUDIN

The department carries out research in the domain of fundamental virology. The two main axes of research are structural virology and cellular virology (host-virus interactions).The research is focused on three transverse themes which are “Mechanisms of viral entry”, “Viral assembly and intracellular transport of viral particles” and “innate immunity”.

General presentation

The I2BC Department of Virology hosts six research groups. Two main axes of research are developed. The first one is host-virus interactions. The teams involved work on the identification of cellular factors targeted by viral proteins and on the characterization of their interactions. These studies are central to determine functions of the host that are hijacked by the virus during cell infection.

The second topic is determining the atomic structure of macromolecular complexes assembled in the course of a viral infection. These projects combine X-ray crystallography and structural electron microscopy. They require the determination of the conditions which allow trapping assembly reaction intermediates amenable to structural analyses. The ultimate goal of this interdisciplinary approach is to provide a molecular description of the dynamics of viral structures at different essential steps of the viral cycle (icosahedral virus assembly, fusion of viral and cellular membranes, viral genome encapsidation and ejection, etc) at a molecular level.

Viruses studied in the Department are either important pathogens (rabies virus, flavivirus, herpesvirus, rotavirus) or excellent models for the precise dissection of different steps of the viral cycle (bacteriophage SPP1 and T5, vesicular stomatitis virus).

The department is focusing its research on three tranverse themes, investigated with several viral models. The first is “Mechanisms of viral entry”. This theme is addressed on viruses infecting eukaryotes, bacteria and archaea and has led to several high-profile publications on the structure of the viral machineries involved in entry. The next objective is to determine how these machineries work in a cellular environment. The second theme is “Viral assembly and intracellular transport of viral and subviral particles” which is investigated both in vivo and in vitro. We aim to identify the host machineries hijacked by the virions for entry, for transport within the cell, for the assembly of the so-called viral factories, and for exit from the infected cell at the end of the virus multiplication cycle. The last theme, which is common to all the groups working on eukaryotic viruses, is “Innate immunity”. The first goal on this theme is to identify the way innate immunity is triggered upon viral infection and what are the signaling pathway involved. A second goal is to characterize the mechanisms evolved by viruses for counteracting innate defenses.

The research developed in the Department on host virus interactions is key in the identification of new viral targets in order to set up new therapeutic strategies against viral diseases. Furthermore, the determination of the atomic structure of viral proteins alone or in complex with some partners provides a rational basis for the design of small molecules interfering with viral functions.

Teams

1) Bacteriophages of Gram-Positive Bacteria - Paulo Tavares
2) Bacteriophage T5 – Pascale Boulanger
3) Cryo-electron microscopy and X-ray crystallography correlative structural virology – Jean Lepault
4) Rhabdoviruses - Yves Gaudin
5) Molecular Biology of Rotaviruses - Didier Poncet
6) Virulence and Latency of Herpes viruses - Audrey Esclatine

published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Virologie

Département Virologie

Responsable : Yves GAUDIN

Le département mène des recherches en virologie fondamentale. Les deux axes de recherche sont la virologie structurale et de la virologie cellulaire (interactions hôte-virus). Ils s’organisent autour de trois thèmes transversaux qui portent sur les mécanismes de l’entrée du virus, l’assemblage et le transport intracellulaire des particules virales et l’immunité innée.

Présentation générale

Le Département de virologie de l’I2BC accueille six groupes de recherche. Deux axes principaux de recherche sont développés. Le premier est d’interactions hôte-virus. Les équipes impliquées travaillent sur l’identification de facteurs cellulaires ciblés par les protéines virales et sur la caractérisation de leurs interactions. Ces études sont essentielles si on veut déterminer les fonctions de l’hôte qui sont détournées par le virus lors de l’infection de la cellule.

Le second sujet axe porte sur la détermination de la structure atomique des assemblages macromoléculaires formés au cours d’une infection virale. Ces projets combinent cristallographie aux rayons X et microscopie électronique structurale. Ils nécessitent la détermination des conditions qui permettent de piéger des intermédiaires de réaction d’assemblage à des fins d’analyses structurales. Le but ultime de cette approche interdisciplinaire est de fournir une description moléculaire de la dynamique des structures virales à différentes étapes du cycle viral (assemblage du virus, fusion des membranes virale et cellulaire, encapsidation et éjection du génome viral, etc) à un niveau moléculaire.

Les virus étudiés au sein du département sont soit des agents pathogènes importants (virus de la rage, flavivirus, herpèsvirus, rotavirus) ou d’excellents modèles pour la dissection précise des différentes étapes du cycle viral (bactériophage SPP1 et T5, virus de la stomatite vésiculaire).

Le Département se focalise essentiellement sur trois thèmes transverses, étudiés sur plusieurs modèles viraux. Le premier thème porte sur les mécanismes de l’entrée virale. Il est abordé sur des virus infectant des eucaryotes, des bactéries et des archées. Il a conduit à plusieurs publications phares sur la structure des machines virales impliquées dans l’entrée. L’objectif est maintenant de déterminer comment ces machines fonctionnent dans un environnement cellulaire. Le deuxième thème porte sur l’assemblage viral et le transport intracellulaire des particules virales et subvirales. Il est mené à la fois in vivo et in vitro. Nous cherchons à identifier les mécanismes cellulaires détournés par les virions lors de l’entrée, lors du transport intracellulaire, lors de la formation des usines virales, et lors de la sortie de la cellule infectée à la fin du cycle. Enfin, le dernier thème, commun à tous les groupes travaillant sur les virus eucaryotes, porte sur l’immunité innée. Le premier objectif de ce thème est d’identifier la manière dont l’immunité innée est déclenchée lors d’une infection virale et quelles sont les voies de signalisation impliquées. Un deuxième objectif est de caractériser les mécanismes acquis par les virus au cours de l’évolution pour lutter contre les défenses innées de l’hôte.

Les recherches développées dans le département sur les interactions virus-hôte sont clefs pour l’identification de nouvelles cibles et mettre en place de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques contre les maladies virales. En outre, la détermination de la structure atomique des protéines virales seules ou en complexe avec des partenaires fournit une base rationnelle pour la conception de petites molécules qui interfèrent avec le cycle viral.

Equipes

1) Bactériophages des bactéries gram positive - Paulo Tavares
2) Bactériophage T5 – Pascale Boulanger
3) Virologie structurale corrélative par cryo-microscopie électronique et radiocristallographie – Jean Lepault
4) Rhabdovirus - Yves Gaudin
5) Biologie Moléculaire des Rotavirus - Didier Poncet
6) Virulence et Latence des Herpesvirus - Audrey Esclatine

publié le , mis à jour le