Search






Supervisory authorities

Our partners


Home > Departments > Cell Biology > Anne-Marie TASSIN : Biogenesis and function of centriolar and ciliary structures

Anne-Marie TASSIN : Group Presentation

The basal body anchoring process is a crucial step in cilium biology since the proteins involved in this process participate in the assembly of the transition zone, a ciliary substructure housing proteins often found mutated in ciliopathies. We are studying this process by molecular and high-resolution electron microscopy approaches.

The centrosome is a tiny dense organelle located near the geometric centre of interphase cells, that duplicates only once per cell cycle. It is composed of two centrioles, the mother and the daughter, highly conserved eukaryotic microtubule-based organelles, surrounded by the pericentriolar material, responsible for the nucleation and the organisation of the microtubule networks. In cycling cells, as the principal microtubule organizing centre, the centrosome directs several fundamental processes, such as intracellular trafficking, cell polarity and division. In resting cells, the mother centriole turns into a basal body which docks at the plasma membrane and develops a non-motile sensory “primary” cilium. In some epithelial cells, a multiplication of basal bodies yields multiple motile cilia at the cell surface. By their dual function in motility and signal transduction, these “cell antennae” intervene in many physiological and developmental processes and their alterations in mammals result in a wide array of disorders, recognized as ciliopathies. More recently, loss of cilia has been described in many tumours so that ciliogenesis appears to be relevant to cancer.
In all cases, ciliogenesis is a multi-step process varying between both organisms and cellular types, but which involves key steps common to all systems: centriole/basal body duplication, basal body maturation, migration and anchoring at the cell surface, and eventually ciliary growth. Building such complex cell organelles requires, in addition to correct genomic expression, a set of appropriate molecular interactions in the 4D (space-time) space.

Basal bodies and cilia of Paramecium
Left : longitudinal view of a basal body and its cilium showing their continuity through a transition zone. Right : cross-sections at the levels marked by the black bars of (1) a basal body (BB) showing the nine-fold symetry of triplets of microtubules and of the cartwheel (cw), (2) a transition zone (TZ), and (3) a cilium showing the same nine-fold symetry of doublets of microtubules and the presence of a central pair of microtubules. Bar=200nm

Our interest have three main focuses:
1) Dissect molecularly and spatially the basal body anchoring process
2) Understand how defects in ciliogenesis may lead to tumour formation by studying the deubiquitinase CYLD, shown to play a role in basal body anchoring in mouse
3) The use of a ciliate microorganism - Paramecium tetraurelia - as a model for PCD (Primary ciliary dyskinesia) since Paramecium offers several technical facilities allowing rapid and efficient molecular and biochemical analyses of proteins involved in ciliary motility.

1)We are currently using a combination of biochemical, molecular and cell biology techniques with cryo-electron tomography in order to:
a) Identify interacting protein partners involved in the anchoring process using the proximity dependent biotin identification (BioID) technique and dissect their functional interactions. This will be dissected, first, in a unicellular multiciliated model, the ciliate Paramecium, which offers experimental facilities for post-genomic analysis such as RNAi, tagged-protein expression and cell biology analyses. It will provide a stepping-stone to our work in mammalian cells.
b) Gain insights into the structural mechanisms underlying the transition zone formation at nanometric resolution.

The depletion of the FOR20 protein in Paramecium impairs basal body anchoring
Left : view in confocal microscopy of a wild type (top) and a FOR20-depleted (bottom) paramecium stained with antibodies specific for basal bodies in green and for the cortical cytoskeleton (epiplasm) in red. Instead of being anchored at the surface, basal bodies stay in the cytoplasm in FOR20-depleted cells. Right : transmission electron microscopy view of a wild type (top) and a FOR20-depleted (bottom) paramecium. Basal bodies are anchored at the cell surface in wild-type cells, whereas they are found free in the cytoplasm or close to the cell surface but unanchored in FOR20-depleted cells.

2) Our recent work in mammalian cells has revealed an unexpected role of the deubiquitinase CYLD in basal body migration/anchoring. CYLD was originally identified as a tumour suppressor gene that is mutated in familial cylindromatosis, a genetic condition that predisposes patients to the development of skin appendages tumours. Most of the mutations of CYLD found in human cylindromas are predicted to cause carboxy-terminal truncations and catalytic inactivation of the deubiquitinating domain. Ubiquitination is a widespread mechanism for regulating many aspects of cell physiology, including protein degradation, DNA repair, receptor endocytosis, apoptosis…. The role of ubiquitination in basal body anchoring may be part of a more general function in ciliogenesis. In addition, we would like to understand how the ciliogenesis defects observed in the Cyld mouse mutant, mimicking the smallest truncation found in the human pathology, can be related to tumour formation.

A mutation in the CYLD gene impairs basal body anchoring
Left : double-staining analysis of basal bodies (in green) and cilia (in red) in ependymal cell cultures of wild type (top) and CyldΔ932 mutant (bottom) mice using specific antibodies 15 days after serum removal. Multiciliated cells show a large number of basal bodies irrespective of the presence or absence of cilia. Right : transmission electron microscopy image of trachea of wild type (top) and CyldΔ932 mutant (bottom) mice. In the wild type trachea, numerous regularly spaced anchored basal bodies are evident at the apical membrane. All of them show an axoneme. In the mutant trachea, the basal bodies stay in the cytoplasm and are not anchored at the apical membrane.

3) We set collaborations with clinical geneticists working on PCD in order to analyse functionally novel PCD candidate genes in our model, Paramecium.

C11orf70 Mutations Disrupting the Intraflagellar Transport-Dependent Assembly of Multiple Axonemal Dyneins Causing Primary Ciliary Dyskinesia.
A: Analysis of the swimming velocity of C11orf70 and control knockdown cells. B: Transmission electron micrographs of Paramecium cilia in cross-section showing normal 9+2 arrangement for the control knockdown (left) and absence of the outer (white arrows) and inner (gray arrows) dynein arms in the C11orf70 knockdown cells (right). Scale bar, 100 nm. C: Paramecia expressing the Paramecium C11orf70-GFP show a very high level of cytoplasmic GFP staining with protein also present in the cilia. The cell body was overexposed in order to allow the detection of cilia. Scale bars, 20 µm. D: Paramecium expressing either GFP alone (left), C11orf70-GFP (middle), or IFT46-GFP (right) were subject to deciliation after which the cilia were allowed to regrow for 15 min, in order to study the localization of the tagged proteins during reciliation. Direct GFP fluorescence (green, top) and polyclonal antibody staining against polyglutamylated tubulin (red, middle) are shown along with the merge (bottom). Paramecia expressing GFP are used as a negative control since the GFP protein enters the cilia passively (<27 kDA). The GFP staining is found distributed homogeneously along the entire length of the cilia. In contrast, IFT46-GFP accumulates at the ciliary tips during ciliary regrowth, as expected for an IFT-B family member. C11orf70-GFP is found at much higher levels in the cytoplasm than IFT46-GFP and is also present in the cilia. Upon ciliary regrowth, C11orf70- GFP behaves in a similar fashion to IFT46 GFP in cilia with an accumulation of both proteins observed at the ciliary tips. Scale bars, 10 µm. White boxes show higher magnification.

Keywords :

Centrosome, centriole, ciliogenesis, basal-body, transition zone, cryo-electron tomography, CYLD, ubiquitination, tumor suppressor, Primary ciliary dyskinesia

Contact


TASSIN Anne-Marie [Senior Researcher - CNRS]
Biogenesis and Function of Centriolar and Ciliary Structure [Leader]
01 69 82 32 13 Gif - Bât 26

published on , updated on

Rechercher






Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires


Accueil > Départements > Biologie Cellulaire > Anne-Marie TASSIN : Biogenèse et fonction des structures centriolaires et ciliaires

Anne-Marie TASSIN : Présentation de l’équipe

L’ancrage des corps basaux à la membrane plasmique, étape cruciale de la ciliogénèse, implique l’assemblage de la zone de transition, qui contient des protéines dont la mutation conduit souvent à des ciliopathies. Nous disséquons ce processus d’ancrage par des approches moléculaires et de microscopie à haute résolution.

Au centre de la cellule, le centrosome se duplique à chaque cycle cellulaire. Composé de deux centrioles, le père et le fils, organelles microtubulaires hautement conservées, et entouré du matériel pétricentriolaire le centrosome assure la nucléation et l’organisation des réseaux microtubulaires. Centre organisateur de microtubules, le centrosome contrôle trafic intracellulaire, polarité et division cellulaires. En interphase, le centriole-père devient un corps basal qui s’ancre à la membrane plasmique pour générer un cil primaire, organe de transduction de signaux. Dans certains épithéliums, une multiplication massive de corps basaux génère de nombreux cils motiles. Par cette double fonction de motilité et de transducteur de signaux, les cils interviennent dans de nombreux processus développementaux et physiologiques et, chez les mammifères, leur altération détermine de nombreux désordres reconnus comme “ciliopathies”. La perte des cils, observée dans diverses tumeurs, révèle que la ciliogenèse relève aussi du cancer.

La ciliogenèse est l’aboutissement d’une succession d’étapes coordonnées dans le temps et dans l’espace pouvant différer d’un organisme à l’autre. Cependant, elle comprend plusieurs étapes clés, communes à tous les modèles cellulaires et conservées au cours de l’évolution : la duplication du centriole/corps basal, la maturation du corps basal, la migration et l’ancrage à la membrane et la croissance du cil. En plus d’une synthèse correcte des protéines impliquées, l’édification de cet organelle complexe dépend du bon déroulement des interactions moléculaires dans un espace en 4 dimensions (espace-temps). Cette étude est basée sur la synergie des modèles expérimentaux la paramécie et les cellules de mammifères.

Corps basal et cil en microscopie électronique
A gauche : coupe longitudinale d’un corps basal et de son cil montrant leur continuité à travers une zone de transition . A droite : coupes transversales au niveau des lignes noires marquées à gauche de (1) un corps basal (BB) montrant la symétrie 9 de l’organisation des triplets de microtubules et de la "roue de charette" (cw) (2) d’une zone de transition (TZ) et (3) d’un cil montrant la même symétrie 9 de l’organisation de doublets de microtubules et la présence d’une paire centrale de microtubules. Barre=200nm.

Les objectifs de note équipe sont multiples : 1) réaliser la dissection moléculaire et spatiale de l’étape d’ancrage du corps basal. 2) comprendre comment des défauts de ciliogenèse peuvent conduire au développement d’une tumeur en étudiant le rôle de la dé-ubiquitinase suppresseur de tumeur CYLD, dont nous avons montré le rôle dans l’ancrage. 3) Le microorganisme cilié - la Paramécie - est utilisé comme modèle d’étude des DCP (dyskinésie ciliaire primitive). La Paramécie offre de nombreuses avantages techniques permettant des analyses moléculaires et biochimiques rapides et efficaces des protéines impliquées dans la motilité ciliaire.
1) Nous combinons les techniques de biochimie et de biologie cellulaire avec la cryo-tomographie électronique pour :
a) Identifier et analyser de nouveaux acteurs de l’ancrage des corps basaux en utilisant la technique de la BioID.
b) Disséquer les mécanismes structuraux permettant l’établissement de la zone de transition à l’échelle nanométrique.

La déplétion de la protéine FOR20 chez la paramécie prévient l’ancrage des corps basaux
A gauche : vue en microscopie confocale d’une paramécie sauvage (en haut) et déplétée pour FOR20 (en bas) marquées par des anticorps spécifiques des corps basaux en vert et du cytosquelette cortical (épiplasme) en rouge. Au lieu d’être ancrés à la surface, les corps basaux de cellules déplétées pour FOR20 se trouvent en vrac dans le cytoplasme. A droite : vue en microscopie électronique d’une paramécie sauvage (en haut) et déplétée pour FOR20 (en bas). Les corps basaux sont ancrés à la surface dans les cellules sauvages tandis qu’on les trouve libres dans le cytoplasme

2) Notre récent travail sur les cellules de mammifère a révélé un rôle inattendu de la déubiquitinase CYLD dans l’étape de migration/ancrage du corps basal. Identifiée d’abord comme suppresseur de tumeur, CYLD est mutée dans les cylindromatoses familiales, qui prédisposent les porteurs à des tumeurs de la peau. La plupart des mutations caractérisées dans les cylindromes humains consistent en des délétions carboxy-terminale inactivant le domaine de déubiquitination. L’ubiquitination est une modification post-traductionnelle des protéines impliquée dans la dégradation des protéines, la réparation de l’ADN, l’endocytose de récepteurs, l’apoptose…. Le rôle de la déubiquitination dans l’ancrage des corps basaux peut relever d’une fonction plus générale dans la ciliogenèse. De plus, nous voudrions comprendre comment les défauts de ciliogenèse observés chez les souris mutantes Cyld portant la plus petite délétion trouvée dans les pathologies humaines, peuvent être reliés à la formation de tumeurs..

3) Nous avons établi des collaborations avec des équipes de généticiens cliniques travaillant sur les DCP et réalisons l’analyse fonctionnelle chez la Paramécie de nouveaux gènes candidats impliqués dans les DCP.

Des mutations dans le gène C11orf70 empêche l’assemblage des chaînes de dynéine dépendant du trafic intraflagellaire et conduisent aux dyskinésies ciliaires primitives.
A : Analyse de la vitesse de nage après déplétion de C11orf70 ou d’un gène contrôle. B : Coupes transversales de cils de Paramécie observées en microscopie électronique à transmission montrant la présence des 9 bras de dynéines internes et externes chez les Paramécies contrôles (gauche) et l’absence des bras de dynéines externes (Flèche blanche) et internes (flèche grise) après déplétion de C11orf70 (droite), échelle 100nm. C : Les Paramécies exprimant la protéine C11orf70GFP montrent un marquage important de la GFP dans le cytoplasme et dans le cil. Le corps cellulaire est surexposé afin de permettre la détection des cils. Barre d’échelle 20µm. D : Etude de la localisation des différentes protéines pendant la reciliation : Paramécies exprimant la GFP seule (à gauche), C11orf70-GFP (milieu) ou IFT46-GFP (droite) sont déciliées et reciliées (les cils peuvent repoussés pendant 15 minutes après changement de milieu). Marquage montrant la fluorescence directe (vert, en haut) et la tubuline polyglutamylée identifiée à l’aide d’un anticorps polyclonal (polyE) (rouge, milieu) et en bas la superposition des deux marquages. Les Paramécies exprimant la GFP sont utilisées comme contrôle négatif, la GFP (27KD) pouvant entrer librement dans le cil. Par contre l’IFT46 GFP s’accumule à la pointe des cils pendant la reciliation, comme attendu pour un membre du complexe IFT-B. C11orf70GFP est localisée de manière beaucoup plus importante dans le cytoplasme que IFT46GFP mais est également présent dans le cil. C11orf70-GFP s’accumule à la pointe du cil comme IFT46-GFP pendant la reciliation. Les encarts blancs montrent un agrandissement. Barre d’échelle 10µm.

Mots clés :

Centrosome, centriole, ciliogénese, corps basal, zone de transition, cryo-tomographie, CYLD, ubiquitination, suppresseur de tumeur, dyskinésie ciliaire primitive

Contact


TASSIN Anne-Marie [Directeur de Recherche - CNRS]
Biogenèse et Fonction de la Structure Centriolaire et Ciliaire [Responsable]
01 69 82 32 13 Gif - Bât 26

publié le , mis à jour le